2016-17 IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup

Female skier skiing downhill

The 2016 IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup in Tignes, France.

ⒸSki Handisport

The 2016 IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup in Tignes, France. © • Ski Handisport

The 2016-17 IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup season will feature six World Cups in Europe and Asia. The season is a chance for the best skiers to compete for honours on some of the world’s most challenging slopes and prepare for the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Paralympic Games.

The season kicks off in December with World Cups in Kuhtai, Austria, and St. Moritz, Switzerland. Skiers will then take to the slopes in January for two more World Cups in Europe in Innerkrems, Austria, and Kranjska Gora, Slovenia.

These World Cups will be vital tests for skiers ahead of the World Para Alpine Skiing Championships in Tarvisio, Italy, between 22-31 January.

In March, for the first time since the 2007-08 season, skiers will compete in World Cups in Asia. After a World Cup in Hakuba, Japan, the season concludes with the World Cup Finals in PyeongChang, South Korea, a competition that will also serve as a Test Event for the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympics.

The winners of last season’s World Cup globes include France’s Marie Bochet, who won four women’s standing titles, three skiers from Great Britain (Millie Knight, Menna Fitzpatrick, and Kelly Gallagher) who won titles in the women’s visually impaired events, New Zealand athletes Adam Hall, who won the men’s downhill and slalom standing titles, and Corey Peters, who won the men’s super-G sitting title, and Japan’s Takeshi Suzuki, who won the men’s slalom sitting title.

2016-17 IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup
City, Country Events Date
Kuhtai, Austria Giant slalom and slalom 15-17 December 2016
St. Moritz, Switzerland Giant slalom and slalom 19-22 December 2016
Innerkrems, Austria Downhill, super-G and super-combined 11-15 January 2017
Kranjska Gora, Slovenia Giant slalom and slalom 18-20 January 2017
Hakuba, Japan Giant slalom and super-G 5-7 March 2017
PyeongChang, South Korea Downhill, super-G, giant slalom, slalom and super-combined 9-18 March 2017