Berlin 2018: Dutch name team

Worlds medallists Marlou van Rhijn and Kenny van Weeghel among headliners for Europeans 15 Jul 2018
Image of a wheelchair racer
ⒸGetty Images

The Dutch team for the 2018 World Para Athletics European Championships which take place in Berlin, Germany next month (20-26 August) has been announced.

The Netherlands’ Technical director Ad Roskam revealed a team of 19 Para athletes - nine women and 10 men – on Wednesday (11 July), including London 2017 world medallists Marlou van Rhijn, Kenny van Weeghel, Ronald Hertog and Marlène van Gansewinkel.

"All selected athletes compete at the top of their discipline and class," said Roskam. "So the expectation is that we as a team will get a great result!

“In addition to very experienced athletes such as Kenny van Weeghel, Ronald Hertog, Margriet van der Broek and Marlène van Gansewinkel, there are some excellent, young talented athletes who have qualified, which is a very good sign on the road to Tokyo 2020."

The full team is as follows:


Amy Siemons (T34) 100m

Marlou van Rhijn (T62) 100m, 200m

Nienke Timmer (T35) 100m, 200m

Marlène van Gansewinkel (T64) 100m, 200m, long jump

Margriet van den Broek (T54) 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m, 5000m

Annette Roozen (T63) long jump

Fleur Schouten (T63) long jump

Lara Baars (F40) shot put, discus throw

Cheyenne Bouthoorn (F36) shot put


Joël de Jong (T63) 100m, 4x100m relay

Stefan Rusch (T34) 100m

Rens van de Waterlaat (T54) 100m

Levi Vloet (T64) 200m, 4x100m relay

Olivier Hendriks (T62) 400m, 4x100m relay

Gert-Jan Schep (T36) 400m

Kenny van Weeghel (T54)100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m

Ronald Hertog (T64) 200m, long jump, 4x100m relay

Ranki Oberoi (T20) long jump

Take Zonneveld (F40) javelin throw, shot put