Germany top Road World Cup standings

British cyclists dominate final event in Canada 20 Aug 2018 By IPC

German road cyclists proved to be the most consistent throughout the year as they ended top of the overall World Cup standings despite finishing second in the last event in Baie-Comeau, Canada.

Five-time Paralympic gold medallist Michael Teuber was crowned the men’s overall C1 champion. The other title-winners were Matthias Schindler (men’s C3), London 2012 bronze medallist Bernd Jeffre (men’s H4) and two-time Rio 2016 champion Hans-Peter Durst (men’s T2).

USA followed them onto the overall podium, while Russia* completed the top-three.

Great Britain dominate in Canada

On Canadian soil, German cyclists claimed six golds, three silvers and seven bronze, but it was not enough to win the last World Cup of the year.

That honour went instead to Great Britain, who topped the medal table in Canada with six golds, four silvers and four bronze.

William Bjergfelt (37:42.03) won the men’s time trial C5 ahead of Australia’s Alistair Donohoe and France’s Dorian Foulon.

Lora Fachie swept her two events in the women’s B. She was followed by Poland’s Iwona Podkoscielna and Belgium’s Griet Hoet in both the road race and time trial.

Katie Toft (women’s C1) won her two events by default as she was the sole competitor.

Stephen Bate added a sixth British gold in the men’s time trial B after clocking 35:11.46. Poland’s Przemyslaw Wegner and Canada’s Daniel Chalifour completed the podium.

Home crowd enjoy multiple victories

Canada were third in Baie-Comeau, with local cyclists taking six golds, two silvers and four bronze.

Paralympic champion Tristen Chernove (01:29:27) won the men’s road race C2 ahead of Spain’s Maurice Far and Russia’s Arslan Gilmutdinov..

Two-time Rio 2016 bronze medallist Charles Moreau (31:09.66) claimed gold in the men’s time trial H3, with Belgium’s Jean-Francois Deberg and Austria’s Walter Ablinger coming in second and third respectively.

Michael Sametz gave Canada a third gold in the men’s time trial C3 after clocking 26:12.99. Great Britain’s Benjamin Watson and Germany’s Steffen Warias completed the podium.

Holly Dapp was the fastest in the women’s road race H2, ahead of South Korea’s Mikyoung Jeon. Shelley Gautier won the women’s road race and time trial T1 by default.

Full results of the Road World Cup can be found online.

Final World Cup overall standings are available on UCI’s website.


*Editor's note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August 2016 for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games.