Mexico City 2017: US swimmers named

13 Paralympians lead squad for upcoming World Championships. 01 Aug 2017
A visually impaired athlete swims

Rebecca Myers set a new world record in the women's 200m individual medley SM13 at the 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships

ⒸLuc Percival Photography. All rights reserved.
By US Paralympics

"We’re thrilled about the up-and-coming talent on the team, as well as the veteran athletes who have proven their ability."

US Paralympics has named the 22 athletes who will compete at the 2017 World Para Swimming Championships in Mexico City, from 30 September – 6 October. The team, which is comprised of 12 females and 10 males, includes 13 Paralympians and two returning world champions from the 2015 edition in Glasgow, Great Britain.

“We’re very excited about the 22 athletes who will represent Team USA at the World Championships,” said Queenie Nichols, high performance director for US Paralympics Swimming. “We’re thrilled about the up-and-coming talent on the team, as well as the veteran athletes who have proven their ability, who will certainly have incredible swims in Mexico City.”

Six-time Paralympic medallist and seven-time world championships medallist Becca Meyers will look to defend her titles in the 400m freestyle S13 and 200m individual medley SM13.

Jessica Long, a 23-time Paralympic medallist and 38-time world championships medallist, will return to her sixth World Championships as the reigning champion in the 100m butterfly S8, 100m breaststroke SB7, 200m individual medley SM8 and 400m freestyle S8.

Six other female Paralympians are included on the roster, including Hannah Aspden, McKenzie Coan, McClain Hermes, Sophia Herzog, Natalie Sims and Colleen Young.

World gold medallist in 2009, Tucker Dupree makes his fifth World Championships team, and is joined by fellow Paralympians Tharon Drake, Tye Dutcher, Robert Griswold and Curtis Lovejoy.

Nine rising stars are also included in the team; Caleb Cripe, Julia Gaffney, Connor Gioffreda, Gia Pergolini, Lawrence Sapp, Roderick Sewell, Zachary Shattuck, Aspen Shelton and Leanne Smith.

US team for 2017 World Para Swimming Championships


Hannah Aspden - S9/SB8/SM9

McKenzie Coan - S7/SB6/SM7

Julia Gaffney - S8/SB6/SM8

McClain Hermes - S12/SB12/SM12

Sophia Herzog - S6/SB6/SM6

Jessica Long - S8/SB7/SM8

Becca Meyers - S13/SB13/SM13

Gia Pergolini - S13/SB13/SM13

Aspen Shelton - S13/SB13/SM13

Natalie Sims - S9/SB9/SM9

Leanne Smith - S4/SB4/SM4

Colleen Young - S13/SB13/SM13


Caleb Cripe- S7/SB8/SM7

Tharon Drake - S11/SB11/SM11

Tucker Dupree - S12/SB12/SM12

Tye Dutcher - S10/SB9/SM10

Connor Gioffreda- S6/SB6/SM6

Robert Griswold - S8/SB7/SM8

Curtis Lovejoy - S2/SB1/SM2

Lawrence Sapp - S14/SB14/SM14

Roderick Sewell - S8/SB6/SM8

Zachary Shattuck - S6/SB6/SM6