New Zealand’s Pan Pacifics swimming team named

Multiple Paralympic champion Sophie Pascoe leads delegation 11 Jul 2018
female Para swimmer Sophie Pascoe holds up a gold medal by the pool

Sophie Pascoe is New Zealand's most decorated Paralympian

ⒸGetty Images
By Paralympics New Zealand

Nine-time Paralympic champion Sophie Pascoe will headline New Zealand’s swimming delegation for the 2018 Pan Pacific Para Swimming Championships next month. Pascoe, who is the country’s most decorated Paralympian, will be joined by eight other swimmers, including three-time Paralympic champion Cameron Leslie and Rio 2016 participants Jesse Reynolds, Tupou Neiufi and Hamish McLean.

Christopher Arbuthnott and Celyn Edwards will return to Australia following a plethora of personal bests at the Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast earlier this year.

Bryall McPherson will make her return to international competition after two years, while Amanda Lowry will make her international debut after only six months training.

Paralympics New Zealand High Performance Director Malcolm Humm said: “We are thrilled with the quality of the team we have announced with five Paralympians and three Para swimmers that have extensive international experience. The Championships will also provide an opportunity for Tauranga-based Amanda Lowry to make her international debut in a meet that will be stacked with strong competition.

“The last Championships was held in 2014 in California, USA, where the New Zealand Para Swimming Team won 13 medals. This team will once again be aiming for multiple podium finishes as we build towards the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.”

The competition is set to take place in Cairns, Australia, between 9 and 13 August.

The full story is available on Paralympics New Zealand’s website.