US Open: Names confirmed for year’s final Grand Slam

Diede de Groot aims to win title for the first time 29 Aug 2018
Netherlands' Diede de Groot

Netherlands' Diede de Groot

ⒸGetty Images

The entries for the US Open, the last wheelchair tennis Grand Slam of the year, have been confirmed. France’s Nicolas Peifer, USA’s Dana Mathewson and Bryan Barten will join the world’s best men’s, women’s and quad players respectively in New York, USA.

Stephane Houdet and Shingo Kunieda are the only previous champions in the men's field, having dominated the event since 2007. Houdet won his third singles title in New York in 2017, while the Japanese amassed six titles between 2007 and 2015.

World No.1 Kunieda won the first two Grand Slam men's titles of 2018, beating Houdet in an epic Australian Open final in January.

Yui Kamiji and Diede de Groot contested last year's women's singles final, with Kamji clinching her third US Open title since 2014.

While the US Open is one of two Grand Slam titles yet to be achieved by de Groot, the current world No. 1 is joined in the field by fellow Dutchwoman and 2013 champion Aniek van Koot.

Three former champions will contest the quad singles including three-time winner and defending champion David Wagner of USA.

Wagner will play 2014 champion Andy Lapthorne of Great Britain and 2015 champion Dylan Alcott of Australia in the round-robin phase of the quad event, as well as fellow American Barten.

Full entries available on ITF’s website.