World Grand Prix 2019 confirmed

Second edition to feature seven of the world’s best blind football teams 26 Sep 2018
Argentina champion - 2018 World Grand Prix

Argentina beat England to win the 2018 World Grand Prix title

ⒸJapan Blind Football Association

The International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) and the Japan Blind Football Association have reached an agreement to host the World Grand Prix until at least 2020.

The tournament will serve as preparation for the world’s top teams in the run-up to the 2020 Paralympic Games in the Japanese capital, and as a springboard to promote blind football within Japan, Asia and the rest of the world.

Tokyo will stage the second edition from 19-24 March 2019, with seven of the world’s best teams and the host team battling for the title at the Shinagawa-ku Tenno.

It follows-on from the highly-successful first edition held last March. Argentina will be looking to retain the title won after defeating England on penalties in the final.

Belgium, France, India, hosts Japan, Turkey and Russia* also took part in the inaugural edition.

The high competitive level is reflected on the fact that five of the participant teams participated in the 2018 World Championships in Madrid, Spain.

Also on the programme for the same dates is an international development tournament featuring Japan B and some of the most exciting up-and-coming blind football nations.

*Editor's note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August 2016 for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games.