World Para Swimming announces largest World Series

Australia, Singapore and Netherlands to host events for first time 01 Oct 2018
Daniel Dias won the 2018 and 2017 editions of the World Series

Daniel Dias won the 2018 and 2017 editions of the World Series

ⒸGetty Images
By World Para Swimming

The 2019 World Series will be the largest to date taking place in eight countries across four continents from February to June, World Para Swimming has announced on Monday (1 October).

The competition is going into its third season bringing together the world’s best swimmers in some of the biggest and most traditional Para swimming events on the planet.

Australia, Netherlands and Singapore are the three countries making their debut as World Series hosts. The 2019 edition will kick off on Australian soil in Melbourne on 15 February.

Berlin (Germany), Indianapolis (USA) and Sao Paulo (Brazil) are the three cities which have been part of the competition calendar since the inaugural season in 2017.

“The World Series was created to bring multiple opportunities to swimmers around the world, with a regular competition calendar for the elite athletes and, at the same time, a stage for young swimmers. World Para Swimming is pleased to announce that next year’s World Series will be the biggest ever,” said Tracy Glassford, World Para Swimming Manager.

“We would like to thank the athletes, coaches, National Paralympic Committees and Organising Committees which helped making the 2018 World Series a huge success. We had more than 1,000 swimmers from 72 countries competing.”

All athletes' results at each World Series edition are calculated using a standardised World Para Swimming points system via an online virtual competition platform.

This ensures that the overall World Para Swimming World Series winner will be the best performing athlete over the duration of the series, meaning that every performance counts.

Brazil’s Daniel Dias won the men’s individual World Series title in the first two editions. Great Britain’s Louise Fiddes topped the women’s standings in 2018 following Italian Monica Boggioni’s win in 2017.

The World Series also award the best team, the men’s and women’s juniors and the men’s and women’s S/SB 1-3 high support need swimmers in the season.

The 2019 World Para Swimming World Series calendar:

City Dates

Melbourne, Australia 15-17 February

Netherlands TBC TBC March

Indianapolis, USA 4-6 April

Glasgow, Great Britain 25-28 April

Sao Paulo, Brazil 26-28 April

Singapore 10-12 May

Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy TBC May

Berlin, Germany 6-9 June