IPC Ice Sledge Hockey European Championships
5-10 April

About us

The competition

The 2016 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey European Championships will be held in Ostersund, Sweden, from 5-10 April.

Featuring reigning champions Italy, Paralympic silver medallists Russia, Norway, Czech Republic, Germany and the host nation Sweden, the event is organised locally by Parasport Jämtland-Härjedalen and the Swedish National Paralympic Committee.

The venue is the same as the 2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships B-Pool.

The city of Ostersund

With a population of about 60,000, Ostersund is the only city in the county of Jamtland. It is situated by the Lake Storsjon.

The long, cold winter is the city´s greatest asset, along with the freshest air and the cleanest water of Europe. As well as the 2008 biathlon World Championships and the annual season opening biathlon World Cup, Ostersund is also host of many other national and international winter sports events, including the Arctic Cat Cup, World Enduro Championships, cross-country skiing World Cup, Vertex 24 and world junior curling Championships.

History of the IPC Ice Sledge Hockey European Championships

The 2011 European Championships in Solleftea, Sweden, drew teams from 10 countries as Italy beat the Czech Republic 2-1 in the gold medal game.

Norway triumphed 4-0 over Estonia to leave with bronze.

At the 2007 edition in Pinerolo, Italy, Norway were the victors after defeating the Czech Republic 3-1. Rolf Pedersen was the tournament leading goal scorer with 19 strikes for the gold medallists.

Germany took bronze.

A dramatic draw in 2005 in Zlin, Czech Republic, saw Germany crowned European champions and gain qualification for the Torino 2006 Paralympic Winter Games. The result was decided after Germany tied with Sweden both on points and in a tie-game. The final result was based on the total goals scored less the total goals scored against.

Sweden finished in silver medal position ahead of Estonia in bronze.


To contact IPC Ice Sledge Hockey, please email ipcicesledgehockey@paralympic.org

To contact the Organising Committee of Ostersund 2016 please email Fredrik Andersson Fredrik.Andersson@jhidrott.rf.se

For media enquiries and information, please email lucy.dominy@paralympic.org