Paralympic Winter Games
12 - 21 March

Australia's Crow Wins IPC Photography Award for Sit Skiing Image

11 Oct 2011

Jeff Crow of Australia’s Sport the Library has won the photography category of the International Paralympic Committee’s (IPC) 2011 Paralympic Media Awards, proudly partnered by the IPC's International Partner Allianz.

The awards recognize the highest quality and most dynamic photo from the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games, and Crow’s winning photo features Australian sit skier Shannon Dallas competing in the slalom event.

Crow was a photographer contracted by the Australian Paralympic Committee to capture its teams in action at the Games, and his images were used extensively by Australian media outlets during the international event.

Other finalists for the photography award included:

• New Zealand’s Hannah Johnston (Getty Images) for her photo of Daisuke Uehara and Mitsuru Nagases of Japan celebrating after winning their Ice Sledge Hockey semi-final game;

• Canada’s Jason Payne (Vancouver Sun) for his photo from the Opening Ceremony featured on the front page of the Vancouver Sun

• Belgium’s Lieven Coudenys (Freelance) for his photo of Russia’s Irek Zaripov receiving one of his three gold medals from the Games;

• Canada’s Mark Van Manen (Vancouver Sun) for his parade of champions photo depicting Canada’s delegation making its way toward the Closing Ceremony.

The photography category was open to all accredited photographers from the Vancouver 2010 Paralympics. Nominees submitted photos depicting everything from sport competitions to the Paralympic Torch Relay to the Opening and Closing Ceremonies.

The award will officially be presented to Crow at the gala dinner during the IPC General Assembly in Beijing, China, on 10 December.