IPC Reveals Shortlist for October Athlete of the Month

02 Nov 2011

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced its shortlist for October’s Athlete of the Month award.

The public has until 23:59 (CET) on 6 November to vote for who they think had the best performance last month on the para-sport scene. Fans can vote on the IPC’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/paralympicsporttv.

The finalists for October include:

Natalia Partyka (Poland): Won the Para-Table Tennis European Championships in the women’s Class 10 singles division without losing a single game throughout the tournament.

Tatyana McFadden (USA): Took the title at the Chicago Marathon in the women’s competition with a time of 1:45:00, just 23 seconds short of the course record. The victory qualified her for the Marathon at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Ponomarenko Valery (Russia): Won the P-3 event at the IPC Shooting World Cup in the USA, capturing a direct qualification slot for Russia at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. Also took bronze in the P-4 event.

Lars Mertens (Belgium): As the Most Valuable Player at the Wheelchair Rugby European Championships, Mertens led Belgium to a bronze-medal finish with a come-from-behind victory over France. He was also named to the All-Tournament Team and was chosen as the top player in the 3.5 sport class.

Sweden Wheelchair Rugby Team: With a win over Great Britain in the finals, Sweden finished first at the Wheelchair Rugby European Championships, earning itself a spot at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Bosnia and Herzegovina men’s Sitting Volleyball Team: Struck gold at the Sitting Volleyball European Championships with a four-set victory over Russia in the finals. The squad did not lose its first set at the Championships until the elimination round stage.

Previous winners of the award in 2011 are:

• January: Yon Santacana (Spain’s world champion Alpine Skier)

• February: Italy’s Ice Sledge Hockey European Championship team

• March: Neil Fachie (Great Britain’s world champion track Para-Cyclist)

• April: Mikhalina Lysova (Russia’s world champion Biathlete and Cross-Country Skier)

• May: Kristy Pond (Australia’s multi-medal winner at the Arafura Games)

• June: Zoe Newson (Great Britain’s junior world champion in Powerlifting)

• July: Danielle Brown (Great Britain’s three-time medallist at the Para-Archery World Championships)

• August: Ellie Cole (Australia’s six-time gold medallist at Para Pan Pacific Swimming Championships)

• September: Mark Rohan (Ireland’s handcycling road world champion)