June’s IPC Athlete of the Month Shortlist Announced

01 Jul 2011 By IPC

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced a shortlist of six athletes for June’s ‘Athlete of the Month’ Award which recognizes the best performances from the last month.

Three of the candidates were record breakers during June, two claimed Wheelchair Tennis titles and the final contender put in a stunning performance in cycling.

The public have until 23:59 (CET) on Thursday 7 July to choose their winner of the coveted title by voting at www.facebook.com/paralympicsporttv, the IPC’s official Facebook page.

The full shortlist for June is:

Zoe Newson (Great Britain)

At the IPC Powerlifting British Championships at Stoke Mandeville, the 19 year old lifted twice her body weight with a stunning 85.5kg lift in the 40kg category. If ratified by the IPC it will be a new European junior record.

Michelle Stilwell (Canada)

The three time Paralympic gold medalist recorded 35.22 seconds for the 200m T52 at the US Paralympic Tack and Field Championships, which if ratified by the IPC will be a new world record.

Aniek van Koot (The Netherlands)

The world No. 4 enjoyed great success at the BNP Paribas French Open - a Super Series event on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour. The 20 year old not only won the singles title but with her partner Jiske Griffioen also claimed victory in the doubles as well.

Dan Greaves (Great Britain)

After breaking his own world record in May with a throw of 59.27m at the BT Paralympic World Cup, Greaves went further in June throwing 59.85m at the US Paralympic Tack and Field Championships.

Maikel Scheffers (The Netherlands)

The Dutchman defeated world number one Shingo Kunieda on his way to glory at Roland Garros, Paris beating France’s Nicolas Peifer in the final.

Joel Jeannot (France)

Jeannot claimed victory in the H3 Road Race and H3 Time Trial at the UCI Para-cycling World Cup event in Spain. He was also part of the French team that finished third in the team relay, an impressive performance from the former T54 Wheelchair Racer who has two Paralympic gold medals to his name.

Previous winners of the award in 2011 are as follows:

• January – Yon Santacana (Spain’s World Champion Alpine Skier)

• February – Italy’s IPC Ice Sledge Hockey European Champions

• March - Neil Fachie (Great Britain’s World Champion Track Cyclist)

• April – Mikhalina Lysova (Russia’s World Champion Biathlon and Cross Country Skier)

• May – Kristy Pond (Australia’s Multi-Medal winners at the Arafura Games)