PC, IAKS and IOC Award Prizes for Sports Facilities

Bonn, Germany - The International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS), the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) announced this year's winners of their international architectural award for sports and leisure facilities. 16 Jul 2009 By IPC

A jury-session with international personalities honoured seven projects with gold, nine with silver, eight with bronze and argued for four special distinctions. Ten participants were awarded with an IPC/IAKS Distinction. The winning entries come from 14 countries worldwide.

The triumphant winner is China with two gold, two silver and one bronze medal as well as with two IPC/IAKS Distinctions. The Olympic Stadium (“Bird’s Nest”) in Beijing won the gold medal in the category “Stadia” and also the IPC/IAKS Distinction for accessibility for its outstanding offers for athletes and spectators with a disability.

The IOC/IAKS Award is the only international architecture competition for sports and leisure facilities. This year 117 teams of operators and designers from 26 countries took part in the IOC/IAKS Award. In the 20 year old history, this competition for sports facilities has previously never seen such a high number of registered participants.

The IPC/IAKS Distinction is aimed at increasing the accessibility of all sports facilities and architectural projects in order to give opportunities to persons with a disability to practise and view sport freely and without barriers. For the IPC/IAKS Distinction, 54 entries have been received, also a record number.

The winners of the IPC/IAKS Distinction 2009:

Beijing Olympic Stadium (CHN)

Architect: Herzog de Meuron + ArupSport + China Architecture Design & Research Group (CAG)

Beijing Olympic Green Tennis Centre (CHN)

Architect: BVN Architecture with China Construction Design International

Kantrida Swimming Centre, Rijeka (CRO)

Architect: Studio Zoppini Associati

Kastrup Sea Bath (DEN)

Architect: White Arkitekter A/S

Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Academy, Dorset (GBR)

Architect: FaulknerBrowns Architects

La Molina Ski Resort (ESP)

Architect: Ramon Ganyet, Pere Solá, Mariona Masdemont

Rehazenter Luxembourg (LUX)

Architect: m3 architectes s.a. – Dell, Linster, Lucas

Moscow Region Speed Skating Center Kolomna, Colomna (RUS)

Architect: Alexander Goder

National Tennis Centre, London (GBR)

Architeckt: Hopkins Architects

Universitäts- und Landessportzentrum Salzburg/Rif, Hallein (AUT)

Architect: Architekt Gernot Benko ZT

The award ceremony will take place during the 21st IAKS Congress in conjunction with FSB (International Trade Fair for Amenity Areas, Sports and Pool Facilities) in Cologne, Germany, on 28 October 2009. For more information, please visit the official website at www.iaks.info.