International Paralympic Committee

Promoting Athlete Health and Safety in Paralympic Summer Sport Environment



Team and IF Medical Staff Workshop

06 September 2016



Agenda

Session 1

- Welcome and Introductions
 - Dr. Cheri Blauwet (IPC Medical Committee), Dr. Yves Vanlandewijck (IPC Sport Science Committee)
- Summer Paralympic Gamestime Injury Patterns What Did We Learn From London?
 - Dr. Wayne Derman (IPC Medical Committee, South Africa)
- Injury Prevention in Paralympic Sport Translating Research to Practice
 - Dr. Nick Webborn (IPC Medical Committee, UK)
- Return to Play Guidelines for Acute Illness
 - Dr. Martin Schwellnus (IOC Injury Prevention Research Center, South Africa)
- The Importance of an Emergency Response Plan an NPC Perspective
 - Dr. Geoff Thompson (NPC Australia)



Agenda

Session 2

The Rio Environmental Context and Impact on Paralympians

- Julie Duffus (Rio 2016 Sustainability Manager)
- Mike Tanner (FISA)
- Dr. Doug Hiller (ITU)
- Alastair Fox (World Sailing)
- Medical Issues Specific to the Paralympic Athlete
 - Dr. Jan Lexell (NPC Sweden, IPC Medical Committee)
- Anti-Doping Updates in Paralympic Sport
 - Dr. Matt Fedoruk (IPC Anti-Doping Committee, USA)

6

Agenda

Session 2

- Concussion in Paralympic Sport The Road Forward
 - Dr. Jamie Kissick (IPC Medical Committee, Canada)
- Unique Considerations for the Female Paralympic Athlete
 - Dr. Cheri Blauwet (IPC Medical Committee, USA)
- Prevention of Harassment and Abuse in Paralympic Sport
 - Dr. Yetsa Tuakli-Wosornu (IPC Medical Committee, Ghana/USA)

Thank you for your engagement!!



VISTA

IPC VISTA Conference September 19-22, 2017 Toronto, Canada





IOC WORLD CONFERENCE ON PREVENTION OF INJURY & ILLNESS IN SPORT



MONACO #IOCprev2017 16-18 MARCH 2017 www.ioc-preventionconference.org

Martin Asker Chris Milne Roald Bahr Cam Mitchell **Robin Mitchell** Jochen Baumeister Kam-Ming Mok Håvard Moksnes Jesper Bencke Merete Möller Christine Holm Moseid Andrea Mosler Martin Schwellnus Christopher Skazalski Willem van Mechelen Wayne Vilioen Haavard Visnes Markus Waldén Nick Webborn Rod Whiteley Kevin E. Wilk Erik Witvrouw Mette K. Zebis Hanna Lindblom Johannes Zwerver

Eva Ageberg

Paul Ashley

Irfan Asif

Tone Bere

Karim Khan

Hideyuki Koga

Tron Krosshaug

Ben Kibler

Josef Kröll

Tricia Leahy Jeremy Lewis

Osman Ahmed

Arnhild Bakken

Anne Beniaminse

Thor Einar Andersen

Stig H. Andersson

Adrian Lussi

Kathy Martin

James McNeil

Michael Makdissi

Andrew McIntosh Carly McKay