Equipment and Technology in Paralympic Sports
1-4 May

Paralympic Scientific Award

At VISTA 2013, the IPC will award the Paralympic Scientific Award in recognition of the work of one academic researcher for his/her contribution to research in the field of sports for persons with an impairment. This award also serves to promote and encourage further study in this area.

Criteria (IPC Award Selection Policy - IPC Handbook, Section 2, Chapter 3.11)

To be eligible for this award, candidates must have contributed through significant scientific publications related to the scientific study of sport for persons with an impairment in any discipline, have received national and/or international recognition for his/her work, and place an emphasis on the practical application of research with direct or indirect benefit to the Paralympic Movement.

Past winners of Paralympic Scientific Award
Year Name Country
2005 Colin Higgs Canada
2007 Garry Wheeler Canada
2009 Gudrun Doll-Tepper Germany
2011 Lucas van der Woude Netherlands
2013 Dr. Rory Cooper USA