Securing the future for young para-athletes
8-11 October

Scientific Award

During VISTA 2015, the IPC will present the highly prestigious Paralympic Scientific Award.

Awarded biennially, the award recognises the work of one academic researcher for their contribution to research in the field of sports for persons with an impairment. This award also serves to promote and encourage further study in this area.

Nominations for the award opened on Tuesday 21 January 2015 and the closing date is Saturday 28 February at 12:00 GMT.

An application form for the award can be found in related documents to the left hand side of the page.

To be eligible for this award, candidates must have contributed through significant scientific publications related to the scientific study of sport for persons with an impairment in any discipline, have received national and/or international recognition for his/her work, and place an emphasis on the practical application of research with direct or indirect benefit to the Paralympic Movement.

The criteria and IPC Award Selection Policy can be found here.

A list of the previous winners are below and details of their projects can be found by clicking here.

Past winners of Paralympic Scientific Award
Year Name Country
2005 Colin Higgs Canada
2007 Garry Wheeler Canada
2009 Gudrun Doll-Tepper Germany
2011 Lucas van der Woude Netherlands
2013 Dr. Rory Cooper USA
2015 Jennifer Mactavish Canada

Related Documents