Official website of the Paralympic Movement
High Contrast
Normal Contrast
Larger Font Size
Default Font Size
Smaller Font Size



Sailing was introduced at the Atlanta 1996 Paralympic Games as a demonstrative sport and then became a medal sport at the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games. It is now practiced by athletes in more than 70 countries.

It is open to athletes with any type of physical impairment and the classification system is based on four factors: stability, hand function, mobility and vision. Athletes compete in three events, which are non-gender specified: single-person keelboats, three-person keelboats and two-person keelboats.

At the London 2012 Games, 80 athletes competed in three medal events.

International Association for Disabled Sailing (ISAF)
Type of data Info data
Address ISAF UK Ltd Ariadne House Town Quay Southampton Hampshire, SO14 2AQ Great Britain
Phone +44 23 80 635 111
Main Contact Emma Little
IPC Sports Council Representative John Twomey