2012 U.S. Paralympics Track Cycling World Championships Team Named

19 Oct 2011 By IPC

U.S. Paralympics has announced the 19 athletes who have been nominated to compete for Team USA at the 2012 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Los Angeles, California, 9-12 February. Athletes were nominated based on results from the 2011 USA Cycling Paralympic Track National Championships.

"I'm very excited about the team we are fielding which is a blend of past world championship medalists and a handful of new talent," said Craig Griffin, head coach and high performance director of the U.S. Paralympics Cycling National team. "It's a great opportunity for our team, especially with it being in Los Angeles on a familiar track and a home crowd."

Six women will compete as part of the U.S. roster, including reigning world pursuit champion Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.), 2011 World Championship double medalist Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.) and world record holder Karissa Whitsell (Eugene, Ore.) and her pilot Lisa Turnbull (Springfield, Ore.). All are coming off strong performances at the Elite Track National Championships, 28 September - 3October. The event was held at the Home Depot Center, the same location where the Para-cycling Track World Championships will take place

Top para-cyclists including 2011 world championship silver medalist Vincent Juarez (San Jose, Calif.), 2009 Worlds' medalist Aaron Trent (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and 2009 world champions Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.) and pilot Dave Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.) are among the U.S. men nominated to compete.

The 2011 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championship was held 11-13 March in Montichiari, Italy, and Team USA finished fifth in the overall medal count with six total medals.

The 2012 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships will welcome approximately 230 athletes from 30 countries and serve as the final qualifying event for U.S. athletes to be nominated to the 2012 U.S. Paralympic Cycling Team which will compete at the 2012 Paralympic Games in London. The Paralympic Games will take place from 29 August 9 September.

The athletes nominated include:


Matt Bigos (Cardiff by the Sea, Calif.)

Will Chesebro (Carmel Valley, Calif.)

Mike Farrell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Mark Gyulafia (Portland, Ore.)

Vincent Juarez (San Jose, Calif.)

Sam Kavanagh (Bozeman, Mont.)

Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.) and pilot Dave Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.)

Aaron Trent (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Chester Triplett (Mooresville, N.C.) and pilot Pete Billington (San Rafael, Calif.)

Anthony Zahn (Lincoln, Neb.)


Megan Fisher (Missoula, Mont.)

Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, CO)

Greta Neimanas (Chicago, Ill.)

Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.)

Laura Sobchik (Fullerton, Calif.)

Karissa Whitsell (Eugene, Ore.) and pilot Lisa Turnbull (Springfield, Ore.)