Brazil to face Argentina for 5-a-side world title

Brazil and Argentina are the only two teams to win the world title and the two will meet again in Monday’s final in Tokyo, Japan. 23 Nov 2014
Brazil's Number 10 Ricardinho

Brazilian football 5-a-side star Ricardinho.

ⒸIPC - Guadalajara

In a repeat of the 2006 final, three-time Paralympic champions Brazil will meet Argentina on Monday (24 November) to decide who wins gold at the 2014 IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Tokyo, Japan.

Brazil, the defending world champions, booked their final spot with a 2-1 win over China.

Trailing 1-0 at half-time, Brazil did not panic and a brace from Ricardinho, including a fantastic solo effort for his second, ensured their presence in the gold medal match.

In the other semi-final, two-time world champions Argentina defeated European champions Spain on penalties. After the game finished goalless, Argentina advanced 3-2 on spot kicks.

Spain will now meet China in the bronze medal match.

Monday’s final kicks off at 17:30 local time.

For more information, visit the 2014 IBSA Blind Football World Championships website.