Countries invited to sign up for Asian Championships

The football-5 event will take place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 9-18 December. 16 May 2017
A blindfolded football 5-a-side player.

Behzad Zadaliasghari Yengejeh IRI takes a rest. Men's Gold Medal Match, Brazil vs Islamic Republic of Iran. 5-a-side Football at the Olympic Tennis Centre.

ⒸOlympic Information Services OIS.

International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) Asian member countries are invited to sign up for the 2017 IBSA Blind Football Asian Championships, set to take place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 9-18 December.

Hosted by the Malaysian Blind Sports Association, the event will bring together the best teams in the continent. The champion will qualify for the IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, from 5-18 June 2018.

Reigning Asian champions and Rio 2016 silver medallists Iran aim to regain the title they won in Tokyo, Japan two years ago, but they will face stiff competition from rivals and Beijing 2008 runners-up China, Japan and South Korea.

It will be the seventh edition of the Asian Championships; the inaugural one was staged in Vietnam in 2005.

Previous hosts - winners

2005 Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam) - Japan

2007 Seoul (South Korea) - China

2009 Tokyo (Japan) - China

2011 Sendai (Japan) - China

2013 Beijing (China) - China

2015 Tokyo (Japan) - Iran

More information is available on IBSA’s website.