Dutch determined to keep winning

Netherlands head strong field at Ostend World Cup 16 May 2019
Dutch cyclist Vincent Ter Schure looking down while wearing a competition helmet and orange gear

Vincent Ter Schure will lead the Dutch team at Ostend World Cup

ⒸGetty Images

Rio 2016 Paralympic champions Vicent Ter Schure and pilot Timo Fransen will lead the Dutch team that is hoping to extend their winning streak at the Para Cycling World Cup in Ostend, Belgium, after topping the standings in the first event held in Italy last weekend.

Eight Paralympic medallists, plus two pilots, will be looking for multiple golds between 16 and 19 May, including Rio 2016 champions Daniel Abraham Gebru (MC5) and Tristan Bangma (MB).

The Netherlands will be in confident mood as many of Italy’s strongest cyclists, who shone at their home World Cup, will not be in attendance in Ostend.

But they will still face tough opposition from a strong German team made up of five Paralympic champions: Hans-Peter Dust (MT2), Andrea Eskau (WH5), Vico Merklein (MH4), Michael Teuber (MC1) and Steffen Warias (MC3).

Hosts Belgium will be represented by 25 cyclists and three pilots, led by Paralympic silver medallist Kris Bosmans (MC3), and Rio 2016 bronze medallists Jean-Francois Deberg (MH3), Christopher Hindricq (MH2) and Jonas Van de Steene (MH4).

Also keep an eye on Australian legend Carol Cooke (WT2), Brazilian world champion Lauro Cesar Chaman (MC5) and Canadian Paralympic champion Tristen Chernove (MC2).

Other cyclists to follow are Colombia’s Diego Duenas (MC4), Spain’s Ricardo Ten Argiles (MC1), Great Britain’s Karen Darke (WH3), Peru’s Israel Hilario Rimas (MC2) and USA’s Shawn Morelli (WC4).

Full results will be available on UCI’s website.

The final World Cup event will take place in Baie-Comeau, Canada, from 8-11 August.