Dutch Doubles Dominate 2010 Camozzi Doubles Masters

29 Nov 2010 By IPC

The 2010 Camozzi Wheelchair Tennis Doubles Masters have come to an end on Sunday with Dutch teams taking the victories in the men’s and women’s finals in Palazzolo, Italy.

In the men’s final, reigning champions Maikel Scheffers and Ronald Vink from the Netherlands defeated their compatriot Robin Ammerlaan and France’s Stephane Houdet, 7-6, 6-4 to retain their title.

Dutch duo and top seeds Aniek van Koot and Sharon Walraven overcame the challenge of British pair Lucy Shuker and Jordanne Whiley 7-5, 6-3 to take home the winner’s trophy in the women’s final.

Andrew Lapthorne and Peter Norfolk from Great Britain won their match against last year’s champions, American pair Nick Taylor and David Wagner 4-6, 6-1, 6-3 to take the title in the quad division.

Eight men, four women and four quad doubles pairings were taking part in the the season-ending championship on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour.