Italy Hosts Para-Cycling Championships

17 Sep 2009 By IPC

The 2009 International Cycling Union (UCI) Para-Cycling World Championships ended a strongly contested four-day run on the road in Bogogno, Italy.

Taking place from 10-13 September, the event had record participation of 312 athletes from 29 different countries. Several countries came onto the world circuit demonstrating tremendous progress that has been made with their athletes in Cycling.

In the Men’s Road Race (Class LC 4), Pierre Senska and Michael Teuber from Germany both came in first with a time of 1:23.26. Juan Mendez Fernandez from Spain followed in third position. In the Women’s Road Race (LC 1), Sarah Storey from Great Britain came in first, followed by Greta Neimanas from USA and Claire McLean from Australia.

In the Men’s Road Race (Class HC A), Wolfgang Schattauer from Austria took the first position, followed by Robert Labbe from Canada and Christoph Etzlstorfer from Austria. In the Women’s Road Race (Class HC B), Ursula Schwaller from Switzerland took first, followed by Claudia Schuler and Francesca Fenocchio from Italy.

In the Men and Women’s Team Relay (HC), Switzerland’s trio Bruno Huber, Ursula Schwaller and Heinz Frei took first. Coming in second were Austria’s team of Manfred Putz, Wolfgang Schattauer and Elmar Sternath. In third position were Canada’s team of Rico Morneau, Mark Beggs and Robert Labbe.

In the final rankings, Spain came in first position, followed by Germany, Italy, USA, Austria, Switzerland, Great Britain, France, Canada and the Netherlands respectively.

The speed and excitement inherent in all Cycling competitions is relatively new for athletes with a disability. The sport began to be developed by blind cyclists who first competed using tandem bicycles. Cycling was introduced as a Paralympic Sport in Seoul in 1988 and is now practiced in more than 40 countries.