ITF to Honour Kunieda, Vergeer, Nadal and Wozniacki

31 May 2011
Shingo Kunieda celebrating at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games

Shingo Kunieda celebrating at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games

ⒸGetty Images

Wheelchair Tennis champions Esther Vergeer of the Netherlands and Japan’s Shingo Kunieda are amongst the recipients of the 2010 International Tennis Federation (ITF) World Champions trophies, which will be presented to them tonight (31 May) at the 2011 ITF World Champions Dinner in Paris at the Pavillon d’Armenonville.

The World Champions Dinner will celebrate the achievements of the 2010 ITF World Champions. Former British Davis Cup player and current television broadcaster Andrew Castle will host the evening, with ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti presenting the awards to the World Champions, with the distinctive trophies once again designed by internationally-recognized sculptor Laurence Broderick.

Besides Vergeer, who will collect her trophy for a record 11th year, and Kunieda, this year’s recipients are singles champions Rafael Nadal of Spain and Denmark’s Caroline Wozniacki; doubles champions Bob and Mike Bryan (USA), Gisela Dulko (ARG) and Flavia Pennetta (ITA); and junior champions Juan Sebastian Gomez (COL) and Daria Gavrilova (RUS).

French Davis Cup captain Guy Forget will be presented with the International Tennis Federations’s highest accolade, the Philippe Chatrier Award. Forget receives the award for his achievements in and support of Davis Cup and Fed Cup by BNP Paribas, with an influence in both ITF team competitions that extends far beyond his own country.