Kunieda and Griffioen named 2015 World Champions

For Japanese star Kunieda, a seventh world title makes him the most decorated player in men’s wheelchair tennis. 04 Jan 2016
Female wheelchair tennis player in action on a blue court

Dutch wheelchair tennis player Jiske Griffioen at the London 2012 Paralympic Games

ⒸGetty Images

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) has named Shingo Kunieda of Japan and Jiske Griffioen of Netherlands as the 2015 ITF Men’s and Women’s Wheelchair Tennis World Champions.

As ITF World Champion for the seventh time, Kunieda is now the most decorated man in the wheelchair men’s category. Kunieda had another outstanding season, collecting seven titles on the UNIQLO Wheelchair Tennis Tour, including all three Grand Slam singles titles to take his career tally of singles titles at the majors to 20, and achieving a 30-2 singles win-loss record.

Kunieda said: “I am really happy to be World Champion for the seventh time and set a new record. I am grateful for the support of my team who have helped me a lot this year, and my goal is now to win my third consecutive gold medal at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.”

Jiske Griffioen of Netherlands had a breakthrough 2015, winning her first Grand Slam wheelchair singles title at the Australian Open, and following up with a second major title at Roland Garros. Having been ranked continuously in the Top 5 since September 2010, the 30-year-old finally reached the top spot in June and stayed there for the rest of the year.

Griffioen said: "It was an amazing year for me. In January I won my first Grand Slam singles title, and then in June won my second Grand Slam title and took over the world No. 1 ranking for the first time in my career. This was a great reward for a lot of hard work.”

ITF President David Haggerty said: “I would like to thank all the 2015 ITF World Champions for their contribution to another memorable year for our sport.”

The ITF World Champions will receive their awards at the 2016 ITF World Champions Dinner on Tuesday 31 May, in Paris, during Roland Garros.