Roland Garros wheelchair tennis entrants announced

Second Grand Slam of the year to take place 5-7 June in Paris, France 11 May 2013
A picture of man in a wheelchair playing a forehand in a tennis match

Japan's Shingo Kunieda is ranked No. 1 in the world in men's singles wheelchair tennis.

ⒸGetty Images

The Fédération Française de Tennis (FFT) has confirmed the entries for the Roland Garros Wheelchair Tennis Event, the second Grand Slam of the year and part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour.

The event which takes place from 5-7 June in Paris, France will feature the top seven ranked players in the world in the men’s and women’s gameas of the 15 April entry deadline, plus one wildcard.

World No. 1 ranked players Shingo Kunieda and Aniek van Koot head the entries for the men's and women's singles.

In the men's field, Stephane Houdet of France is the defending champion, while 2011 title winner Maikel Scheffers of the Netherlands who brought to an end Kunieda's sequence of successive victories two years ago will also feature.

A new name will be added to the women's singles roll of honour following the retirement earlier this year of six-time champion Esther Vergeer. Vergeer's fellow Dutch woman van Koot, a 2011 finalist at Roland Garros, won her first Grand Slam title at the Australian Open in January.

Men’s entrants – (figures in brackets denote world ranking at entry cut-off – 15 April).

Shingo Kunieda (JPN) (1)

Stephane Houdet (FRA) (2)

Gustavo Fernandez (ARG) (3)

Maikel Scheffers (NED) (4)

Ronald Vink (NED) (5)

Gordon Reid (GBR) (6)

Stefan Olsson (SWE) (7)

Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) (9) (Wildcard)

Women’s entrant

Aniek van Koot (NED) (1)

Sabine Ellerbrock (GER) (2)

Jiske Griffioen (NED) (3)

Marjolein Buis (NED) (4)

Lucy Shuker (GBR) (5)

Kgothatso Montjane (RSA) (6)

Sharon Walraven (NED) (7)

Katharina Kruger (GER) (11) (Wildcard)

Related Images