Six teams confirmed for Asian Blind Football Championships

The tournament will take place in Tokyo, Japan, this September with two teams qualifying for Rio 2016. 01 Jul 2015
Blindfolded football player celebrates

Lijing Zhang of China celebrates during the men's football 5-a-side match between Turkey and China on Day 2 of the London 2012 Paralympic Games

ⒸGetty Images

Six teams will contest the IBSA Asian Blind Football Championships 2015 this September in Tokyo, Japan, with the winners and runners-up securing slots to the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

The tournament will be the biggest yet with Japan, China, India, Iran, Malaysia and South Korea all vying for Rio 2016 qualification between 2-7 September.

Teams will play each other in a round-robin first stage, before moving onto placement games on the final match day.

On the opening day of matches India will face South Korea, Malaysia will play Iran and host Japan will meet reigning champions China.

The Rio 2016 Paralympic Games football 5-a-side competition will feature eight teams. As hosts, Brail already have their spot secure, despite also winning the world title last year.

Tickets for Rio 2016 will go on-sale on Monday 7 September.