US Paralympics Cycling National Team announced for 2016

The 2016 team features 27 athletes including one tandem pilot as Rio 2016 edges closer. 03 Jan 2016
A picture of a man with one arm cycling during pursuit race.

Joseph Berenyi competing in the Men's Ind.C3 Pursuit on day 2 of the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

ⒸLieven Coudenys
By US Paralympics

US Paralympics has named the 27 athletes, including one tandem pilot, to the 2016 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team. The US roster boasts nine Paralympians and five reigning world champions returning to the team.

“The national team is an extremely well-rounded group with numerous world champions, world cup medallists, Paralympians and classes represented,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director of US Paralympics Cycling. “Our focus is on Rio and looking at this experienced roster, I fully expect to see several of these athletes on the Paralympic podium in 2016.”

Making their return to the national team are five athletes who captured world titles in 2015: Joe Berenyi, Shawn Morelli, Greta Neimanas, Jill Walsh and Jamie Whitmore.

Team USA showcased one of their strongest seasons in 2015, capturing 18 medals to finish second in the medal count at July’s UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland. On the track, the team won 12 medals in March’s World Championships in Apeldoorn, the Netherlands to place third in the medal standings. Whitmore led the US with three world crowns in the time trial, road race and 500m time trial. Her world titles helped Team USA women climb to the top of the UCI overall rankings for the 2015 track and road seasons.

Highlighting the team are nine athletes who have competed in Paralympic Games spanning from 2004 to 2012, including seven-time Paralympian Allison Jones. The next nine months will set the stage for the biggest of all, the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games in September.

To open the 2016 season, Team USA will travel to Los Angeles for the US Paralympics Track Cycling Open, 5-7 February. The UCI event will serve as a selection event for the UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships, 12-21 March, in Montichiarri, Italy and the 2016 Games.

2015 US Paralympics Cycling National Team

*Denotes U.S. Paralympians

*Joe Berenyi MC3

Matt Bigos MC1

*Alicia Dana WH3

Ryan Boyle MT2

Jonathan Copsey MC4

Tom Davis MH4

*Megan Fisher WC4

*Will Groulx MH2

Samantha Heinrich WC5

*Allison Jones WC2

Aaron Keith MC2

Todd Key MC2

Will Lachenauer MH3

Scott Martin MC4

Shawn Morelli WC4

Christopher Murphy MC5

*Greta Neimanas WC5

*Steven Peace MT2

*Oz Sanchez MH5

Freddie de los Santos MH5

Aaron Scheides MB - stoker

Benjamin Collins MB - pilot

*Jennifer Schuble WC5

Brian Sheridan MH2

*Matt Updike MH3

Jill Walsh WT2

Jamie Whitmore WC3