US Paralympics reveal 2013 cycling team

The USA won 17 medals in cycling at London 2012, and every member of that team will be returning for the 2013 season. 11 Jan 2013
A picture of a man with one arm cycling during pursuit race.

Joseph Berenyi competing in the Men's Ind.C3 Pursuit on day 2 of the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

ⒸLieven Coudenys

“Our cyclists had unprecedented success in London, winning more medals at the Paralympic Games than the programme ever has before.”

The 11-strong US Paralympics cycling team for 2013 was revealed on Thursday (11 January), and it includes six gold medallists from the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Team USA won 17 medals in cycling at London 2012 , marking the most successful Games appearance ever for USA in the sport. Ten athletes combined for 12 medals in road cycling, tying Germany for the most medals in that discipline, and the team added five medals in track cycling.

Joe Berenyi, Muffy Davis, Megan Fisher and Allison Jones all won individual gold medals. Davis also joined with Oscar Sanchez and Matthew Updike for gold in the mixed H 1-4 team relay.

“Our cyclists had unprecedented success in London, winning more medals at the Paralympic Games than the programme ever has before,” said Craig Griffin, high performance director for US Paralympics Cycling.

“For the 2013 season, every member of our London team is returning to competition, which is very exciting. It gives us a great foundation to build on as we look toward greater success over the next four years.”

An additional 32 athletes and pilots were named to the US Paralympics National B Team.

The 2013 season starts on 20 April in Greenville, South Carolina with the Para-Cycling Open, while the season ending 2013 International Cycling Union Road World Championships are slated for 29 August – 1 September Baie-Comeau, Canada.

Other events include the Para-Cycling Road World Cups from 14-16 June in Segovia, Spain and 23-25 August in Mantane, Canada.

Additional athletes may be added to the National A or B Teams throughout the season.

Full rosters for the 2013 season include:

National A Team

- Monica Bascio (Evergreen, Colo.)

- Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.)

- Kelly Crowley (San Francisco, Calif.)

- Muffy Davis (Sun Valley, Idaho/Salt Lake City, Utah)

- Megan Fisher (Missoula, Mont.)

- Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

- Sam Kavanagh (Coram, Mont./Lakewood, Colo.)

- Greta Neimanas (Chicago, Ill./Asheville, N.C.)

- Oscar Sanchez (Los Angeles, Calif./San Diego, Calif.)

- Jennifer Schuble (Houston, Texas/Homewood, Ala.)

- Matt Updike (Denver, Colo.)

National B Team

- Matt Bigos (Cardiff by the Sea, Calif.)

- Will Chesebro (Goleta, Calif.)

- Patty Collins (Hackettstown, NJ/ Alexandria, Va.)

- Jonathan Copsey (Carmel Valley, Calif./Colorado Springs, Colo.)

- Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.)

- Mike Farrell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

- Mark Gyulafia (Overland Park, Kan.)

- Anjii Hanson (Salt Lake City, Utah/Davis, Calif.)

- Vince Juarez (San Jose, Calif./Morgan Hill, Calif.)

- Aaron Keith (Sterling Va./Woodinville Wash.)

- Jason Kimball (Corning, Calif./Spring Lake, N.C.)

- Will Lachenauer (Reno, Nev.)

- Jeff (Scott) Martin (Oceanside, Calif.)

- Debbie Milne (Tupelo, Miss.)

- Cassie Mitchell (Warner, Okla./Atlanta, Ga.)

- Shawn Morelli (Meadville, Pa.)

- Steven Peace (Albion, Mich./San Diego, Calif.)

- Anthony Pedeferi (Camarillo, Calif.)

- Dane Pilon (Raleigh, N.C.)

- Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.)

- Dave Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.), pilot

- Laura Sobchik (Santa Monica, Calif.)

- David Randall (Ontario, Ohio)

- Rachael Scdoris (Bend, Ore.)

- Doug Schneebeck (Albuquerque, N.M.)

- Aaron Trent (Greenville, S.C.)

- Lisa Turnbull (Springfield, Ore.)

- Kara Vatthauer (Tucson, Ariz.)

- Jamie Whitmore (Sacramento, Cali./Somerset, Cali.)

- Karissa Whitsell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

- Mackenzie Woodring (Belmont, Mich.)

- Anthony Zahn (Riverside, Calif./Mill Valley, Calif.)

Related Images