USA’s Para-Cycling Road World Championships Team Announced

15 Jul 2011 By IPC

U.S. Paralympics has announced the 22 athletes and three pilots who will represent Team USA at the 2011 International Para-Cycling Road World Championships in Rosklide, Denmark, which will take place 8-11 September.

Defending world champions Oz Sanchez, Allison Jones and Megan Fisher are expected to star for the U.S. delegation, while Paralympians Karissa Whitsell, Mike Farrell, Matt Updike and Greta Neimanas could all be potential medal contenders as well.

Athletes were nominated based on their UCI rankings, results from the 2011 USA Cycling Paralympic Road National Championships and the London 2012 Paralympic Games qualification strategy. The four-day event will take place on the same route that was used for the fifth state of the 2009 Tour of Denmark.

The World Championships will provide a good taste of what’s to come next summer at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

2011 U.S. UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships Team:


Matt Bigos

Harold Bostick

Matt Bradley

Jonathan Copsey

Mike Farrell

Vincent Juarez

Sam Kavanagh

Steven Peace

Anthony Pedeferri

Dane Pilon

Clark Rachfal and pilot Dave Swanson

Oz Sanchez

Matt Updike


Monica Bascio

Kelly Crowley

Muffy Davis

Allison Jones

Cassie Mitchell

Greta Neimanas

Megan Fisher

Kara Vatthauer and pilot Mackenzie Woodring

Karissa Whitsell and pilot Lisa Turnbull