Vink, van Koot and Wagner Win Belgian Open Titles

01 Aug 2011 By IPC

Dutch Wheelchair Tennis player Ronald Vink took his first title of the year by defeating top seeded compatriot Robin Ammerlaan in the final 6-4, 7-5 at the Belgian Open, part of the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour.

A technically gifted player, Vink has often struggled to impose his game against the top players but found his cutting edge this week. He will have taken great pride not only in taking the title but also the fashion in which he went about his game on his way to the final, taking several important scalps along the way.

Ammerlaan did not leave Belgium empty handed however, as he teamed up with Sweden’s Stefan Olsson to take the Doubles title in style by beating France Lahcen Majdi and Satoshi Saida from Japan 6-2, 6-2.

Aniek van Koot from the Netherlands underlined her stunning form on the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Tour with her third Singles title in less than two months. In a repeat of the Swiss Open final, van Koot had to once again face the tough German Sabine Ellerbrock to win the title in Namur. With her confidence sky-high, the young Dutchwoman looked at ease on court, dominating from the outset as she cruised to a comprehensive 6-4, 6-1 victory.

To the delight of the local crowd, van Koot and Belgium’s Annick Sevenans combined to great effect as they dispatched German duo Ellerbrock and Katharina Kruger to win the Doubles’ final 6-3, 6-3.

USA’s David Wagner retained his Belgian Open Quad title by defeating the young contender from Great Britain Andrew Lapthorne. No one had anticipated such an exciting match once Wagner had taken the opening set 6-0, however after a sluggish start Lapthorne found his range and as his confidence grew, started to hit more winners and in the process took the second set. A tense third set ensued and a gripped crowd watched on as Wagner made his experience count as he made the vital break to take the match 6-0, 3-6, 7-5.

Wagner and Nick Taylor continued the US-American dominance as they won the Quad Doubles title by defeating compatriot Bryan Barten and the Italian Antonio Raffaele 6-3, 6-2.