Vote now for the Allianz Athlete of the Month – December 2014

The public has until Monday 19 January to cast their vote from the six candidates. 13 Jan 2015 By IPC

Six para-athletes have been shortlisted for the Allianz Athlete of the Month poll for December 2014 and the public are now invited to vote for their winner via

The nominations for December 2014 are:

Valerii Redkozubov and guide Evgeny Geroev, Russia, alpine skiing

Following the pair’s double gold at Sochi 2014, they secured five Europa Cup podiums in Kuhtai and Pitztal, including four first place finishes.

Oleksandra Kononova, Ukraine, Nordic skiing

At the first IPC Nordic Skiing World Cup in Vuokatti, Finland, the four-time Paralympic champion won four out of five women’s standing races.

Tyler Walker, USA, alpine skiing

On his return from injury following a heavy crash at Sochi 2014, Walker secured two first places finishes at the NorAm Cup in slalom and giant slalom.

Daniel Dias, Brazil, swimming

At the Spring CanAms meeting in Edmonton, Canada, Dias broke the men’s 200m breaststroke SB4 world record with a time of 3:21.36, taking almost six seconds off the previous best set in June 2012.

Oksana Masters, USA, Nordic skiing

In only her second season competing in snow sport, Masters beat Norway’s Paralympic champion Mariann Marthinsen in the women’s sprint sitting to win her first ever IPC Nordic Skiing World Cup event in Vuokatti, Finland. At the same meeting she also secured two other podium finishes.

Beatrice Vio, Italy, wheelchair fencing

At the IWAS Wheelchair Fencing Hong Kong Grand Prix, 17-year-old Vio, who missed the start of the season to concentrate on schoolwork, was in unstoppable form. In the women’s category B foil event she defeated China’s London 2012 gold medallist Fang Yao 15-6 in the final.

The public has until 12:00 (CEST) on Monday 19 January to vote for the athlete they want to be the Allianz Athlete of the Month for December via the

The nominations are compiled from submissions by National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) and International Federations (IFs).

The previous winners in 2014 include:

January – Markus Salcher, Austria, alpine skiing

February – Matti Suur-Hamari, Finland, para-snowboard

March best male – Declan Farmer, USA, ice sledge hockey

March best female – Marie Bochet, France, alpine skiing

March best team – Russia ice sledge hockey

April – Ali Jawad, Great Britain, powerlifting

May – Aled Davies, Great Britain, athletics

June - Safet Alibasic, Bosnia and Herzegovina, sitting volleyball

July – Markus Rehm, Germany, athletics,

August best youngster – Maria Lyle, Great Britain, athletics

August best male – Yevheniy Bohodayko, Ukraine, swimming

August best female - Sarah Morganti, Italy, equestrian

September – Eduardo Avila Sanchez, Mexico, judo

October – Siamand Rahman, Iran, powerlifting

November - Kelsey Diclaudio, USA, ice sledge hockey

Related Images