Wimbledon Players Announced

23 Jun 2010 By IPC

Athletes competing in the Wheelchair Tennis Doubles event at Wimbledon 2010 have officially been announced by the All England Club.

The four pairings include:

Men’s Wheelchair Tennis Doubles (individual rankings in brackets)

Stephane Houdet (FRA) (1) and Shingo Kunieda (JPN) (5)

Maikel Scheffers (NED) (3) and Ronald Vink (NED) (4)

Robin Ammerlaan (NED) (2) and Stefan Olsson (SWE) (11)

Nicolas Peifer (FRA) (7) and Frederic Cattaneo (FRA) (10)

Women’s Wheelchair Tennis Doubles

Esther Vergeer (NED) (2) and Sharon Walraven (NED) (8)

Florence Alix-Gravellier (FRA) (4) and Jiske Griffioen (NED) (6)

Aniek van Koot (NED) (3) and Annick Sevenans (BEL) (9)

Daniela di Toro (AUS) (5) and Lucy Shuker (GBR) (7)

France’s Stephane Houdet and Japan’s Shingo Kunieda head the list of four pairings for the Men’s Wheelchair Tennis Doubles. Current and former world number one ranked doubles players respectively, Houdet and Kunieda are also both former Wimbledon Wheelchair Doubles champions.

Esther Vergeer and Sharon Walraven both from the Netherlands head the entries for the Women’s Wheelchair Tennis Doubles. Vergeer was part of the winning pairing in the inaugural Women’s Wheelchair Tennis Doubles event in 2009 and recently partnered with Walraven to the finals at Roland Garros.

Wheelchair Tennis, which will take place from 2-4 July, will feature some of the top names in the Paralympic Sport in Great Britain for the showdown. Several thousand ground tickets are available each day for entry to the Grounds. This number may vary depending on the number of people already in the grounds, the number of courts in play and the weather.