Font size bigger Font size smaller


Rowing made its Paralympic debut at Beijing 2008. Athletes race over 2,000m on flat water in boats that vary in length and crew size.

Rowing has been a Paralympic sport since 2008


Rio 2016 featured four medal events: LTAMix4+ (LTA mixed coxed four), TAMix2x (TA mixed double sculls), ASW1x (AS women's single sculls) and ASM1x (AS men's single sculls).

Para rowing classes were then renamed:

PR1 men's single sculls (PR1M1x)
PR1 women's single sculls (PR1Wx)
PR2 mixed double sculls (PR2Mix2x)
PR3 mixed coxed four (PR3Mix4+)

The 2,000m course is raced head-to-head with the winner progressing to the next round. 

Depending on the competition and number of entries, boats ranked second and third in the initial head-to-head heats may progress to repechages and then finals. The exact format for the progression of boats from head-to-head heats is decided at each competition based on entries.

The sport is governed by World Rowing (FISA).