IPC Swimming World Championships
12-18 August

History - 2013 IPC Swimming World Championships Montreal

The Eindhoven Pool for the 2014 IPC Swimming European Championships. © • Mathilde Dusol

Eindhoven 2010
Andre Brasil

Brasil Celebrates First Place at the 2010 IPC Swimming World Championships held in Eindhoven, the Netherlands © • Mathilde Dusol

A picture of a girl swimming
Lisa Den Braber swimming during the 2010 IPC Swimming World Championship in Eindhoven. © • Lisa Den Braber

Montreal 2013 will be the sixth IPC Swimming World Championships to take place with the previous events listed below:

2010 – Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Between 15 and 21 August, 649 athletes from 53 countries took part in the biggest IPC Swimming World Championships to date. During six days of competition, the Pieter van den Hoogenband stadium hosted 181 medal events.

Ukraine topped the medals table with 58 medals, including 20 golds, whilst USA and Russia finished second and third respectively.

2006 – Durban, South Africa

After winning 52 medals including 24 golds, Great Britain topped the medals table with USA in second and Ukraine third. A total of 549 athletes from 49 countries took part in the final major event before the Beijing 2008 Paralympics.

The USA’s Jessica Long and China’s Wang Xiaofu (China) were the leading athletes of the each smashing five world records.

2002 – Mar del Plata, Argentina

More than 50 world records were broken and many personal bests set at the 2002 IPC Swimming World Championships. A total of 574 participants from 53 nations took part in the competition from 6 to 17 December. One highlight was the first IPC Open Water World Championships, which were carried out in the Atlantic Ocean. The final medal tally was topped by Great Britain with 32 gold, 23 silver and 21 bronze. Canada was second and China third.

1998 – Christchurch, New Zealand

From 7 to 17 October, more than 450 athletes from 51 countries took part in the 1998 IPC Swimming World Championships. Canada topped the medals table with 25 golds, though Great Britain claimed the most medals overall with 58. Australia finished third in the medals tally with 13 golds and 47 total medals.

1994 – Valletta, Malta

Nearly 500 athletes from 44 countries took part in the 1994 IPC Swimming World Championships.

The 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships will take place in Glasgow, United Kingdom.