Australian team named for Para-cycling track worlds

A 14-rider team will attend March’s UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Italy. 11 Jan 2016
Matt Formston and Michael Curran

Matt Formston and Michael Curran raced to gold in the men’s 4km pursuit on the first day of the 2014 UCI Para-Cycling Track World Championships.

ⒸJean-Baptiste Benavent
By Cycling Australia

Cycling Australia has announced a 14-rider team for the 2016 Para-cycling Track World Championships to be held in Montichiari, Italy, from 17-20 March.

The Championships provide one of the final chances for riders to impress ahead of the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games in September.

The team features reigning world and Paralympic champions Sue Powell and Michael Gallagher plus dual road and track world champion Alistair Donohoe.

London 2012 Paralympic gold medallist David Nicholas and medallists Alex Lisney and Simone Kennedy have been named.

Amanda Reid, Darcy Thompson, Hannah Macdougall and Kyle Bridgwood will make their team debut.

Three men's Tandem teams have been named including 2014 world champions Matt Formston and Pilot Mick Curran (Pilot), plus seven-time Paralympian Kieran Modra and Pilot David Edwards and Commonwealth Games medallist Paul Kennedy and Pilot Nicholas Yallouris.

Jessica Gallagher, a dual Winter Paralympic medallist and London Paralympic athletics competitor, has been selected with Pilot Madison Janssen.

The Australian squad:

• Sue Powell

• Alex Lisney

• Simone Kennedy

• Hannah Macdougall

• Amanda Reid

• Michael Gallagher

• Alistair Donohoe

• David Nicholas

• Kyle Bridgwood

• Darcy Thompson

• Jessica Gallagher / Madison Janssen (Pilot)

• Matt Formston NSW/Mick Curran (Pilot)

• Paul Kennedy ACT/ Nicholas Yallouris (Pilot)

• Kieran Modra SA/ David Edwards (Pilot)