Paralympic Games
7-18 September

Composition of 2016 Evaluation Commission Announced

The Evaluation Commission which will visit the four Candidate Cities bidding to host the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games has been announced by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). The team will be headed by Nawal El Moutawakel, who also chaired the 2012 bidding process. The full team will include representatives from the Olympic and Paralympic Movement, with additional advisors. 22 Sep 2008 By IPC

Due for submission to the IOC by 12 February 2009, the candidature files of the four bidding cities will be analyzed by the Evaluation Commission. The four cities, listed in order of drawing of lots, are Chicago (USA), Tokyo (Japan), Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) and Madrid (Spain). The Commission will additionally make on-site inspections near the second quarter of 2009, followed by an issuing of a comprehensive technical appraisal for IOC members one month before they elect the host city on 2 October 2009 during the 121st IOC Session in Copenhagen.

The Evaluation Commission includes: Nawal El Moutawakel (Chair, IOC Executive Board Member), Gregory Hartung (IPC Representative), Gilbert Felli (Olympic Games Executive Director), Ching-Kuo Wu (IOC Member), Craig Reedie (IOC Member), Guy Drut (IOC Member), Mounir Sabet (IOC Member), Alexander Popov (IOC Member, Athletes’ Commission Representative), and Els van Breda Vriesman (IOC Member, ASOIF Representative). In addition, the Commission will comprise the aforementioned advisors, and an Association of National Olympic Committees Representative, still to be appointed.

The President of the IOC, Jacques Rogge, said the Evaluation Commission plays an important role in assessing the Candidate Cities’ ability to host the Olympic Games.

For more information about the IOC Evaluation Commission report, please visit