David Wagner wins third successive quad title

Nicolas Peifer and Diede de Groot claim men’s and women’s titles at French Riviera Open 02 Oct 2017
a male wheelchair tennis player hits a forehand

Quad player David Wagner has had an impressive 2017

ⒸGetty Images

Nicolas Peifer, Diede de Groot and David Wagner secured the men’s, women’s and quad singles titles at the inaugural French Riviera Open in Biot on 30 November.

World No.1 Wagner took his tally of titles on the 2017 UNIQLO Wheelchair Tennis Tour into double figures after beating South Africa’s Lucas Sithole 6-4, 6-0 in the final. The US player also ended September with three successive quad singles titles, having won the US Open in New York and last week’s Sardinia Open.

However, Wagner and compatriot Marc McLean lost to Antony Cotterill and Sithole 6-3, 6-3 in the doubles.

Peifer earn home victory in men’s singles

World No. 5 Peifer was the only one of the three singles champions to also add a doubles title in Biot. The Frenchman wrapped up a 6-3, 3-6, 7-6(3) victory over Great Britain’s double Paralympic champion Gordon Reid in the final for his fifth singles title of the year.

Peifer then partnered with Dutchman Tom Egberink to win the men’s doubles after earning a 6-1, 7-5 victory over second seeds Evans Maripa and Takashi Sanada for their second successive title together, having last teamed up to win the 2016 Austrian Open.

De Groot denies Kruger in women’s singles final

The Netherlands’ top seed Diede de Groot and Germany’s second seed Katharina Kruger both dropped five game apiece to earn their places in the women’s singles final.

Having finished runner-up to Japan’s current world No. 1 Yui Kamiji in three successive finals since August, de Groot ended Kruger’s hopes of following up on her Sardinia Open title with a 6-3, 6-3 final victory.

Italy’s Giulia Capocci and France’s Charlotte Famin won the doubles title following a 7-6(9), 2-6, 12-10 triumph over Great Britain’s Louise Hunt and the Netherlands’ Michaela Spaanstra.

The full story is available on the ITF’s website.