Four para-rowers up for 2015 World Rowing Awards

World champions Erik Horrie and Moran Samuel are among the finalists for the para-rowing crew category. 29 Oct 2015
France and Australia rowing

France (Perle Bouge (b), Stephane Tardieu (s)) and Australia (Gavin Bellis (b) and Kathryn Ross (s)) compete in the second heat of the TA mixed double sculls at the 2013 World Rowing Championships in Chungju, South Korea.

ⒸDetlev seyb/
By World Rowing

Four para-rowers were among the finalists for the 2015 World Rowing Awards, which have been announced by the World Rowing Federation (FISA).

These finalists showcased the personalities who have excelled in 2015 with awards in five categories, including the best men's and women's crew, the best para-rowing crew, the best coaches and a special award for service to rowing.

The list of nominees was formed through a public nomination process and then the finalists were decided by the FISA Council.

Finalists for 2015 World Rowing Para-rowing Crew of the Year

- Australia’s Gavin Bellis and Kathryn Ross, TA mixed double sculls - They have won every major race since 2013 and are the reigning World Champions as well as the 2013 Para-rowing Crew of the Year.

- Australia’s Erik Horrie, AS men's single sculls - The 2014 Para-rowing Crew of the Year, Horrie has not lost a major race since finishing with silver at the 2012 Paralympic Games.

- Israel’s Moran Samuel, AS women's single sculls - Samuel finished second at the World Rowing Championships in 2014 and came back to complete an unbeaten 2015 season.

The award winners will be announced on 20 November, and then the winners will be presented with their award on 21 November in Sarasota, Florida, USA at the 2015 World Rowing Coaches Conference gala dinner.

Related Images