Great Britain, USA announce teams for BNP Paribas World Team Cup

The US will look for revenge after losing to the British in last year’s quad event 20 May 2015
David Wagner

David Wagner (USA) in action against Peter Norfolk (GBR) in the Men's Quad Wheelchair Singles Final during day thirteen of the 2011 Australian Open.

ⒸGetty Images
By International Tennis Federation

A total of 52 teams representing 28 countries will take part in the 2015 competition in Antalya.

Great Britain and the USA revealed the players who will represent their respective countries at the International Tennis Federation’s (ITF) flagship event – the BNP Paribas World Team Cup (25-31 May) in Antalya, Turkey.

The back-to-back announcements will lead to anticipating matchups, especially in the quad events, where the US will look to regain the title after falling to Great Britain in a tiebreak in 2014.

The American squad will be led by three-time Paralympic doubles gold medalists David Wagner and Nick Taylor, with Bryan Barten and Greg Hasterok rounding out the foursome.

Jamie Burdekin and Antony Cotterill will return from last year’s event, and will be joined by James Shaw to comprise the British’s quad team.

"Last year's victory over the USA in the deciding doubles of the final will always be one of the most special moments of my career after also being a member of the British team that won the quad title on home soil in Nottingham in 2009," Burdekin said. "We are defending champions and know that retaining the title provides us with a big challenge."

Great Britain won three medals in the 2014 competition in Alphen, the Netherlands, including the gold medal in the quad event, silver in the women’s event and bronze in the men’s event; it was Britain's first podium finish in the men’s competition since 1989.

Great Britain’s teams will be:

Men’s team – captained by Karen Ross

- Gordon Reid

- Marc McCarroll

- David Phillipson

- Alfie Hewett

Women’s team – coached by Kevin Simpson

- Jordanne Whiley

- Lucy Shuker

- Louise Hunt

Quad team – coached by Stuart Wilkinson

- Jamie Burdekin

- Antony Cotterill

- James Shaw

Junior team – coached by Ash Smith

- Luz Esperanza Merry

- Josh Cooper

- Ruairi Logan

Team USA’s team will be:

Men's team – coached by Dan James

- Steve Baldwin

- Hunter Groce

- Jon Rydberg

Women's team – coached by Paul Walker

- Emmy Kaiser

- Dana Mathewson

- Kaitlyn Verfuerth

Quad team – coached by John Devorss

- Bryan Barten

- Greg Hasterok

- Nick Taylor

- David Wagner

Junior team – coached by Jason Harnett

- Chris Herman

- Casey Ratzlaff

- Conner Stroud

The World Team Cup is often referred to as the Davis Cup and Fed Cup of wheelchair tennis. The inaugural event was held in California in 1985, involving six men’s teams. The women’s competition began the following year, with quad and junior events introduced in 1998 and 2000, respectively.

A total of 52 teams representing 28 countries will take part in the 2015 competition in Antalya. Teams will compete in the men’s World Group (12 nations), men’s World Group 2 (12 nations), women’s World Group (12 nations), quad event (8 teams) and junior event (8 teams). The event will take place on red clay courts.

For more information on the 2015 BNP Paribas World Team Cup, visit the ITF’s website.