IPC Shooting Announces Allocation of London 2012 Qualification Slots

16 Jan 2012 By IPC

International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Shooting has announced the allocation of the 132 qualification slots by country for the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Korea leads the list with 12 slots for its athletes, while host nation Great Britain has 11 slots and Germany and Russia were each awarded eight.

The slots were allocated to the National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) via a mathematical formulas that can be found in the London 2012 Shooting Qualification Guide.

Additional information on how the qualification list was developed can be found on related documents section.

Countries have until 6 August 2012 to make the final decision on which of their athletes will participate in the Games.

Eight of the slots have not yet been allocated and will be issued via Bipartite Invitation in March to ensure equal global representation.

Three potential individual names to watch include Great Britain’s Matt Skelhon and Deanna Coates and Sweden’s Jonas Jacobsson.

Skelhon, a gold medallist at the Beijing 2008 Games, and Jacobsson, a nine-time Paralympian and 16-time gold medallist, will both compete in the R1 competition in London should they be selected by their respective countries.

Coates, meanwhile, has competed in every Paralympic Games since 1984 – hauling in seven medals – and is likely to compete in the R2 event.

Shooting will be one of 20 sports featured at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Related Documents