Madrid 2018: Brazil name squad for blind football Worlds

Stars Jefinho and Ricardinho lead the team in search of fifth title 18 May 2018 By CPB

Defending world champions Brazil have announced their 10-man squad for the 2018 International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, from 7-17 June.

The roster, announced by Brazil’s manager Fabio Vasconcelos, includes eight players who were part of Brazil’s gold medal team at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. The squad includes forwards Jefinho and Ricardinho, MVPs of the 2010 and 2014 World Championships respectively.

Four-time Paralympic champions Brazil are seeking the fifth World Championships trophy. In the last edition, in 2014 in Japan, the Brazilians beat rivals and two-time world champions Argentina 1-0 with a goal from Jefinho in extra-time.

“We will have a last training phase in Sao Paulo between 27 May and 4 June to adjust the final details. People can be sure that will make a great tournament. Our goal is to win the title and secure our place at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games,” Vasconcelos said.

Brazil will face Costa Rica, England and Mali in Group D in Madrid. The world champions kick off against Mali on 8 June, then face Costa Rica the following day and finish their participation in the group stage against England on 11 June.

Brazil’s roster for Madrid 2018:


Joao Paulo – ADESUL (Brazil)

Luan – AGAFUC (Brazil)


Cassio – ICB (Brazil)

Damiao – AGAFUC (Brazil)

Gledson – APADV (Brazil)

Mauricio Dumbo - AGAFUC (Brazil)


Jefinho – ICP (Brazil)

Nonato – AGAFUC (Brazil)

Ricardinho – AGAFUC (Brazil)

Tiago Silva – AGAFUC (Brazil)