Maniago 2018: 30th world title for Sarah Storey

Britain's most decorated Paralympian secures first win after birth of second child 04 Aug 2018
Great Britain's Sarah Storey claimed her 30th world title months after giving birth to her second child.

Great Britain's Sarah Storey claimed her 30th world title months after giving birth to her second child.

ⒸGetty Images

Just over nine months after giving birth to her son Charlie, Sarah Storey won her 30th world title on Friday (3 August), the second day of competition (3 August) at the UCI Para Cycling Road World Championships in Maniago, Italy.

Great Britain´s most decorated Paralympian won the women´s time trial C5 with a time of 18:53.62 ahead of compatriot and Rio 2016 bronze medallist Crystal Lane-Wright (19:32.53). Poland´s Anna Harkowska (19:32.77) was third.

The last time Storey competed on the road was at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, where she claimed the road race and time trial titles.

“Today was a special day! World champ for the 30th time just over 9 months after Charlie’s arrival. Something I couldn’t have achieved without the unwavering family support in helping me,” said Storey on Instagram afterwards.

Two more British riders topped the podium in time trial events.

Katie Toft (25:01.85) won the women´s C1 ahead of Australia´s Kaitlyn Schurmann (27:14.82).

In a duel between Paralympic champions, Stephen Bate and pilot Adam Duggleby (31:31.76) beat Netherlands´ Vincent Ter Schure and pilot Timo Fransen (31:32.31) in the men´s B. Poland´s Marcin Polak and pilot Michal Ladosz (31:53.63) were third.

Paralympic medallists emerge victorious

Germany’s five-time Paralympic gold medallist Michael Teuber (19:27.43) was victorious in the men’s C1, his 10th time trial world title and 20th overall. Canadian Ross Wilson (19:29.55) and Spain´s Ricardo Ten Argiles (19:35.73) completed the top three.

“Reaching such milestones makes me backpedal and look back on my long career - then I marvel myself a little bit how things developed,” said Teuber, who is the most successful male Para cyclist in history.

“It is always difficult, to defend a world title, because everyone is hunting the silverback. I am really proud and happy, that I made it again and took that title for the 10th time.”

Another Paralympic champion who secured his first win on Italian soil was Netherlands´ Daniel Abraham Gebru (33:26.80) in the men´s C5. Brazil´s most decorated Para cyclist Lauro Chaman (34:07.97) ended second and Ukraine´s Yehor Dementyev (34:15.08) third.

Slovakia´s Rio 2016 gold medallist Jozef Metelka (33:50.26) claimed the win in the men´s C4. Russia´s* Sergei Pudov (35:05.34) and Australia´s Kyle Bridgwood (35:45.92) won silver and bronze, respectively.

The hosts also celebrated through Paralympic silver medallist Giorgio Farroni (25:05.00) in the men´s T1. He was followed by China´s Jianxin Chen (25:19.34) and Spain´s Gonzalo Garcia Abella (25:21.99).

USA collect four golds

Two-time Rio 2016 gold medallist Shawn Morelli secured the win in the women´s C4 after clocking 20:48.86. Australians Hannah Macdougall (20:59.21) and Meg Lemon (21:19.84) completed the podium.

In the men´s T2, Ryan Boyle (22:13.83) added a second gold to USA´s tally. He was followed by Great Britain´s Craig Collis-McCann (22:58.21) and Spain´s Joan Reinoso Figuerola (23:12.65).

Paralympic silver medallist Jill Walsh (25:13.22) sprang a surprise in the women´s T2 by defeating Australian Carol Cooke (25:42.71), denying her the opportunity to repeat the two golds from last year´s Road Worlds. Germany´s Jana Majunke (25:55.01) sealed bronze.

USA´s fourth gold came in the men´s H5, with London 2012 gold medallist Oscar Sanchez (39:10.02) finishing first. Netherlands´ world champion Tim de Vries (39:15.73) and Italy´s four-time Paralympic champion Alex Zanardi (40:11.41) followed him into the podium.

Netherlands currently lead the medals standings with five golds and two silvers, followed by Italy (5-1-2) and USA (4-2-1).

Full results are available on UCI’s website.

*Editor's note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August 2016 for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games.