Public voting opens for Para-Rower of the Year

Nominations for World Rowing’s annual awards will remain open through 30 September. 19 Sep 2013
Tom Aggar

Tom Aggar in action on the River Thames.

ⒸGetty Images
By World Rowing

The World Rowing Federation opened public nominations on Wednesday (18 September) for the 2013 World Rowing Awards.

Nominations can be made in the following award categories:

• World Rowing Coach of the Year

• World Rowing Male Rower or Crew of the Year

• World Rowing Female Rower or Crew of the Year

• World Rowing Para-Rower or Para-Rowing Crew of the Year

• World Rowing Distinguished Service to Rowing Medal

One nomination can be submitted for each award category.

Once all of the nominations have been received the next stage will be a review by the FISA Council who will select the finalists. The finalists will then be reviewed by FISA's Executive Committee who will select the winners in the categories.

Past para-rowing winners include: China’s Huang Cheng (2012), Ukraine’s Alla Lysenko (2011) and Great Britain’s Tom Aggar (2009, 2010).

Nominations for this year’s awards must be submitted by 30 September by midnight CET here.

The award winners will be publicly announced and the winners presented with their awards at the 2013 World Rowing Coaches Conference Gala Dinner on 8 November in Tallinn, Estonia.

Related Images