Rowers Announced for 2011 World Rowing Championships

18 Aug 2011 By IPC

Competitors have been announced for the 2011 World Para-Rowing Championships taking place on Lake Bled, Slovenia from 28 August until 4 September.

Adaptive rowers will be competing in five 1000m-events to qualify for the London 2012 Paralympic Games by reaching one of the top eight places in their respective boat class.

In the Adaptive Women's Arms and Shoulders Single Scull (ASW1x) race, France’s World Champion Nathalie Benoit will be up against Brazil’s Claudia Santos, who came second at last year’s World Championships and Belarus’ Paralympic silver medallist Liudmila Vauchok.

Great Britain’s defending Champion Tom Aggar will face stiff competition in the Adaptive Men's Arms and Shoulders Single Scull (ASM1x) from Ukraine’s Andrii Kryvchun and New Zealand’s Daniel McBride who came second and third respectively at last year’s World Championships.

In the Trunk and Arms Mixed Double Scull (TAMix2x), Ukraine’s World Champions Dmytro Ivanov and Iryna Kyrychenko will face France’s Perle Bouge and Stephane Tardieu who came second in last year’s event and Australia’s Paralympic silver medallists John MacLean and Kathryn Ross.

Canada’s World Champion team of Anthony Theriault, David Blair, Victoria Nolan, Meghan Montgomery and Laura Comeau will compete in the Legs, Trunk and Arms Mixed Coxed Four (LTAMix4+) event. They will be up against a strong team from Germany, which won bronze at last year, with a team of Christiane Quirn, Michael Schulz, Martin Lossau, Anke Molkenthin and Katrin Splitt.

The intellectually disabled Mixed Coxed Four (IDMix4+), which will not be part of the Paralympic Games next year, will feature Hong Kong’s World Champions, Liu Wang Sin, Lam King Shan, Szeto Tung Chun, Tsui Kwok Man and Chan Tsz Wai. They will be up against teams from Germany, Italy and Russia