Sweden v France to open Wheelchair Rugby Euros

2017 European Championship schedule starts on June 24. 14 Jun 2017
Men in wheelchairs form a line

France will open the 2017 Wheelchair Rugby European Championships.


The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) has revealed the schedule for the 2017 IWRF Wheelchair Rugby European Championship.

Competition will hit off in less than two weeks’ time on 24 June in Koblenz, Germany, with four games held each day until the medal games on 1 July.

Sweden and France open the Championships, followed by Denmark against Ireland. Defending champions Great Britain will then take on Poland. Host nation Germany round off the opening day against Finland.

Preliminary rounds will continue from 28-29 June, followed by playoffs and medal winners decided the following day.

This tournament is a direct qualifier for the IWRF 2018 World Championship in Sydney, Australia. The top four teams from this event will be invited to Worlds, while teams finishing out of the top four will have a chance to qualify through a Qualification Tournament to be held in early 2018.

All games at the IWRF 2017 European Division A Championship will be webcast live (details coming soon). More information can be found on the event website and on Twitter @wrec2017.

Tuesday, 27 June

Sweden vs France

Ireland vs Denmark

Great Britain vs Poland

Germany vs Finland

Wednesday, 28 June

Great Britain vs Ireland

France vs Finland

Poland vs Denmark

Germany vs Sweden

Thursday, 29 June

Ireland vs Poland

Sweden vs Finland

Denmark vs Great Britain

Germany vs France

Friday, 30 June

3rd Group A vs 4th Group B

4th Group A vs 3rd Group B

2nd Group A vs 1st Group B

1st Group A vs 2nd Group B

Saturday, 1 July

Loser G13 vs Loser G14 - 7/8th Place

Winner G13 vs Winner G14 - 5/6th Place

Loser G15 vs Loser G16 - Bronze Medal

Winner G15 vs Winner G16 - Championship