Paralympic Games
24 August - 5 September 2021

Tokyo 2020 launches competition for emblems design

Applications are being accepted between 24 November to 7 December. 24 Oct 2015
Tokyo aerial view

An aerial of Tokyo, host city of the 2020 Paralympic Games.

ⒸGetty Images
By Tokyo 2020

The Tokyo 2020 Emblems Selection Committee has launched the design competition for the new Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games emblems. The competition is open to everyone regardless of previous experience or formal qualifications, and individual or group applications are welcomed.

Individual competition entries are invited from Japanese nationals over 18 years-old and foreign nationals over 18 years-old with the right of residence in Japan. Children and those not resident in Japan can also take part via the group entries system (10 persons maximum) as long as at least one person meets the above age, nationality and residential requirements.

Applications can be submitted online from Tuesday 24 November to Monday 7 December 2015 through a website to be publicly announced at a later date. An official announcement of the winning entry is scheduled for spring 2016.

The entry selected by the Tokyo 2020 Emblems Selection Committee will be forwarded to the Tokyo 2020 Executive Board for final approval. The winning entry will receive an official invitation to attend the Opening Ceremonies of both the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The Games emblems should seek to symbolise the fact that the 2020 Games are being held in Tokyo and Japan, and elicit empathy with people across the world. The designs should endeavour to have widespread appeal before, during and long after the 2020 Games are over.

Tokyo 2020 would like all applicants to give full rein to their imagination and creativity, and incorporate one or more of the following key concepts into their design of new Games emblems:

“The power of sport,” “Typifying Tokyo and/or Japan,” “World peace,” “Exerting the utmost efforts and striving to achieve a personal best,” “Inclusivity,” “Innovation and Futuristic,” “Regeneration (ability to recover from the 2011 disaster).