Paralympic Games
24 August - 5 September 2021

Tokyo 2020 parties agree basic roles and allocation of costs

The Paralympic Games in Tokyo will take place between 25 August and 06 September. 31 May 2017
Tokyo 2020 emblems
By Tokyo 2020

The Tokyo Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games (Tokyo 2020) on Wednesday (31 May) agreed an overall approach governing the division of roles and allocation of costs for the Tokyo 2020 Games with the Tokyo Metropolitan Government (TMG), the Japanese Government, and with local governments of the seven prefectures and four other cities hosting events. The agreement was reached following a special liaison meeting between all the parties.

The seven prefectures hosting events are Hokkaido, Miyagi, Fukushima, Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa and Shizuoka. The four other cities are Sapporo, Saitama, Chiba and Yokohama.

All the parties additionally agreed to set up a ‘Management Committee for Collaborative Projects’ (name TBD), which aims to further reduce costs, while optimising resources. The committee will regularly review the specific tasks related to Games preparation and operation according to the status of each venue and ensure that these tasks are progressed and managed properly.