US Paralympics name Cycling National Team for 2015

Highlights of the 2015 season will include World Championships in track and road para-cycling 12 Dec 2014
USA cycling

The USA won a total of 19 medals at the 2013 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships.

ⒸUS Paralympics
By US Paralympics | IPC

US Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, has announced that nine athletes, including seven reigning world champions, have been named to the 2015 US Paralympics Cycling National A Team. Nine athletes and one tandem pilot were named to the national B team, with an additional six athletes named to the national development team.

“We are confident that the team we have named for the 2015 season will continue the momentum we developed last year as we keep our sights firmly set on being the world’s best cycling team at the Rio Paralympic Games,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director for US Paralympics cycling. “From the returning world champions, to the athletes who are on the cusp of podium finishes, we expect 2015 to be a year of continued growth and excellence.”

The US team is coming off of a successful 2014 season that saw the team win the overall and the gold medal count with 18 medals at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Greenville, South Carolina.

Reigning world champions returning to the national team include: Alicia Dana, Will Groulx, Megan Fisher, Allison Jones, Aaron Keith, Shawn Morelli and Jamie Whitmore.

Team USA begins the 2015 season at the US Paralympics Track Cycling Open between 7-8 February at the Velo Center in Carson, California, to select the team that will compete at the UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Apeldoorn, Netherlands, between 26-29 March. The road season will conclude with the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland 28 July-2 August.

Additional athletes may be added to the team rosters throughout the season.

2015 US Paralympics Cycling National Teams

National A Team

• Ryan Boyle

• Alicia Dana

• Will Groulx

• Samantha Heinrich

• Allison Jones

• Shawn Morelli

• Greta Neimanas

• Jill Walsh

• Jamie Whitmore

National B Team

• Joe Berenyi

• Megan Fisher

• Aaron Keith

• Will Lachenauer

• Scott Martin

• Steven Peace

• Clark Rachfal and pilot Dave Swanson

• Jennifer Schuble

National Developmental Team

• Brian Sheridan

• Oz Sanchez

• Dan Cnossen

• Jon Copsey

• Chris Murphy

• Todd Key