USA announces 2016 swimming team

Three reigning world champions, including 12-time Paralympic champion Jessica Long will look to gain a place for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. 15 Jan 2016
Jessica Long competes at the 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships in Glasgow, Great Britain

Jessica Long competes at the 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships in Glasgow, Great Britain

ⒸLuc Percival Photography
By US Paralympics

US Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, revealed the 29 athletes, including three reigning world champions, that will form the 2016 US Paralympics swimming national team.

“We are in a great position for 2016, we have an accomplished group of swimmers to lead Team USA into the Paralympic year,” said Queenie Nichols, high performance director for US Paralympics swimming. “I’m always excited to see our decorated veterans return to the team, but it is especially gratifying to see so many of our young up and comers continually improving and being named to the national team.”

Of those named to the team, 19 represented Team USA at the 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships and three are reigning world champions. Cortney Jordan, Jessica Long and Rebecca Meyers won a combined seven world titles in 2015.

Eighteen members of the team boast Paralympic experience, with Long owning the most medals with 12 gold medals and 17 overall.

Team USA had an impressive showing in 2015, highlighted by a 30-medal haul at the IPC Swimming World Championships in July and a 32-medal haul at the Toronto 2015 Parapan American Games in August.

Team USA starts the year with the Jimi Flowers Classic on 16-17 January in Colorado Springs. Swimmers will have the opportunity to qualify for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games at the 2016 US Paralympic Team Trials for cycling, swimming and track and field in Charlotte, North Carolina on 30 June-2 July.

Additional athletes may be added to the team rosters throughout the season.

2016 National A Team


Hannah Aspden, S9/SB8/SM9

McKenzie Coan, S8/SB7/SM8

Cortney Jordan, S7/SB7/SM7

Michelle Konkoly, S9/SB8/SM9

Jessica Long, S8/SB7/SM8

Rebecca Meyers, S13/SB13/SM13

Martha Ruether, S13/SB13/SM13

Elizabeth Smith, S9/SB9/SM9

Elizabeth Wasil, S10/SB9/SM10

Colleen Young, S13/SB13/SM13


Tharon Drake, S11/SB11/SM11

Tucker Dupree, S12/SB12/SM12

Robert Griswold, S9/SB8/SM9

Roy Perkins, S5/SB4/SM5

2016 National B Team


Reilly Boyt, S6/SB6/SM6

Brickelle Bro, S8/SB7/SM8

Anna Eames, S10/SB9/SM10

Alyssa Gialamas, S5/SB5/SM5

Sophia Herzog, S6/SB6/SM6

Anna Johannes, S9/SB8/SM9

Letticia Martinez, S11/SB11/SM11

Noga Nir-Kistler, S6/SB5/SM6

Nelya Schasfoort, S7/SB7/SM7

Mallory Weggemann, S8/SB7/SM9


Evan Austin, S8/SB7/SM8

Cody Bureau, S9/SB9/SM9

Michael DeMarco, S3/SB2/SM3

Ryan Duemler, S8/SB7/SM8

Rudy Garcia-Tolson, S8/SB7/SM7

Sport fans from around the world can now buy their Paralympic tickets for Rio 2016 from authorised ticket resellers (ATRs).

The IPC’s Global ATR is Jet Set Sports, and Rio 2016 tickets and packages can be purchased on the CoSport website.

Residents of Brazil can buy 2016 Paralympics tickets directly from the Rio 2016 website.